skip to content

Management Committee

The Management Committee is responsible for overall control of the budget of the Institute, and for its short-term and long-term financial planning. The Director is responsible to the Management Committee, which provides essential advice and support in relation to fund-raising activity, employment of staff at the Institute, appointment of organisers of programmes, housing, library and computing facilities, publicity, and general oversight of all activities of the Institute.

Its aim is to facilitate to the fullest possible extent the smooth and effective running of the visitor research programmes of the Institute and all related activities. The Committee is especially concerned with the interactions between the Institute and its funding bodies, particularly the UK Research Councils, Cambridge University, the Cambridge Colleges, the London Mathematical Society, the Leverhulme Trust, and others. It generally meets three times a year.

Name Institution End of Service
Prof. David Abrahams Director, Isaac Newton Institute 30 September 2021
Dr Gabor Csanyi Council of the School of Technology 31 December 2018
Prof. Mark Gross Faculty of Mathematics 31 December 2018
Dr Katie Blaney EPSRC  
Prof. Valerie Isham Chair of the Scientific Steering Committee 31 December 2020
Dr Ewan Kirk (Chair) General Board 31 December 2018
Dr Eric Lauga Trinity College 31 December 2018
Prof Nick Manton St John's College 31 December 2018
Dr Christie Marr (Secretary) Deputy Director, Isaac Newton Institute  
Prof. Andy Parker Council of the School of Physical Sciences 31 December 2018
Prof. Gabriel Paternain Head, DPMMS  
Prof. Nigel Peake Head, DAMPT  
TBC Chair of Correspondents  
Prof. Ulrike Tillmann London Mathematical Society 31 December 2018
University of Cambridge Research Councils UK
    Clay Mathematics Institute London Mathematical Society NM Rothschild and Sons